This page looks different to our usual site because it is from our back catalogue. More recent articles are here.


200 riders will go to the Olympics

March 3, 2012

Two hundred riders from 41 countries have qualified for a place in the equestrian events at the London 2012 Olympic Games later this year.

Just seven couintries - Australia, Canada, Great Britain, Germany, the Netherlands, Sweden, and the USA - will field full teams in all three disciplines.

The final stage of the qualification by nation process, concluded on March 1, and the FEI Olympic Athletes Rankings in Jumping, Dressage, and Eventing were published yesterday.

Azerbaijan, Ireland, Portugal, and Russia qualified through the FEI Olympic Athletes Rankings in Jumping bringing the total number of nations represented by individual riders to 11. Argentina, Colombia, Ireland, and Japan will be represented by two riders each, whereas Azerbaijan, Bermuda, Egypt, Jordan, Portugal, Russia, and Syria will be entering one individual each. Fifteen countries will be represented by teams.

In Dressage, 11 nations will be fielding full teams of three riders. Thirteen countries will be represented only by individual riders, who qualified through the FEI Olympic Athletes Rankings. These nations are Antigua, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Finland, France, Italy, Japan, Morocco, Norway, Poland, Portugal, and Ukraine. This brings the total number of countries that will compete in the Olympic Dressage competitions to 24. Germany, host nation Great Britain, and the Netherlands will each be entering four riders - a team of three and one individual qualified through the rankings - which is the maximum number allowed in dressage.

Riders from 11 nations qualified through the FEI Olympic Athletes Rankings in Eventing. These nations are Australia, Austria, Belarus, Ecuador, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, the Netherlands, Russia, South Africa, and Thailand. Since Australia qualified five riders through the Rankings and Ireland and the Netherlands qualified three riders each, these three nations will have composite teams which brings the total number of teams that will compete in Eventing to 14.



Affiliate disclaimer