This page looks different to our usual site because it is from our back catalogue. More recent articles are here.


2012 Olympic dressage judges named

September 24, 2011

The dressage judges for next year's Olympic Games in London and the World Cup final in The Netherlands have been decided.

Stephen Clarke (GBR), President of the Ground Jury for Dressage at the London 2012 Olympic Games, has officiated at five World Cup Finals, three European Championships, three World Equestrian Games and London will be his second Olympic Games. © Kit Houghton/FEI
For the Olympics, the Dressage Ground Jury of Leif Törnblad (Denmark), Maribel Alonso (Mexico), Jean-Michel Roudier (France), Gary Rockwell (USA), Wim Ernes (Netherlands) and Evi Eisenhardt (Germany) will join Stephen Clarke, who as a host country judge had already been appointed Ground Jury President.

Jacques Van Daele (Belgium) will take on the role of Chief Steward and Wojtek Markowski (Poland) is Foreign Technical Delegate at the Games.

The announcements were made following blind draws at the FEI's headquarters in Switzerland yesterday.

The Ground Jury for Paralympic Equestrian at the London 2012 Paralympics has also been confirmed: Lilian Iannone (Argentina), Freddy Leyman (Belgium), Anne Prain (France), Gudrun Hofinga (Germany), Sarah Rodger (GB) and Carlos Lopes (Portugal) will join President of the Ground Jury Kjell Myhre (Norway).

Chris Porterfield (GB) is Chief Steward and Hanneke Gerritsen (Netherlands) is Technical Delegate at the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

The Ground Jury for the Reem Acra FEI World Cup Final 2012 in 's-Hertogenbosch from April 18 to 22 will also be seven-strong: Ghislain Fouarge of The Netherlands will serve as President of the Ground Jury, along with Stephen Clarke, Gary Rockwell, Katrina Wüst (Germany), Isabelle Judet (France), Susan Hoevenaars (Australia) and Leif Törnblad.

Trond Asmyr, FEI Director Dressage and Para-Equestrian Dressage, said the FEI would be marking 100 years of equestrian sport in the Olympic movement at London 2012, "and the stunning location of Greenwich Park means that we will be at the heart of the Olympic and Paralympic Games."

2012 longs lists and draw process

The FEI's Dressage Committee proposed a long list of judges for the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games according to FEI rules, which state that there can be up to 12 5* judges, a maximum of two per country and from a minimum of eight countries.

There can be only one judge per nation and a total of seven judges on the Ground Juries for the Olympic and Paralympic Games, so the first names to be drawn - providing there is not more than one from any nation - are appointed to the Ground Jury.

The blind draw took place at FEI headquarters overseen by the FEI's legal team.

A total of 11 5* judges from eight nations were on the long list for the London 2012 Olympic Games, including Stephen Clarke who as a host country judge has already been appointed as President of the Ground Jury.

Ten judges from the long list were therefore included in the blind draw: Ghislain Fouarge (NED); Katrina Wüst; Leif Törnblad; Mary Seefried (AUS); Maribel Alonso; Isabelle Judet (FRA); Jean-Michel Roudier (FRA); Gary Rockwell; Wim Ernes (NED); Evi Eisenhardt.

Nine judges were on the long list for the London 2012 Paralympic Games: Lilian Iannone (ARG); Anne Prain (FRA); Freddy Leyman (BEL); Gudrun Hofinga (GER); Tarja Huttunen (FIN); Inga Holdt-Mencke (GER); Kathy Amos-Jacob (FRA); Sarah Rodger (GBR); Carlos Lopes (POR).

The same rules apply for the long list and draw process for the Dressage World Cup.

There were 12 5* judges on the long list: Dietrich Plewa (GER); Isabelle Judet (FRA); Stephen Clarke; Ghislain Fouarge; Gary Rockwell; Susanne Baarup (DEN); Andrew Gardner (GBR); Leif Törnblad; Katrina Wüst; Wojtek Markowski (POL); Francis Verbeek (NED); Susan Hoevenaars (AUS). Jacques van Daele (BEL) is Foreign Technical Delegate at the Reem Acra FEI World Cup Final 2012.



Affiliate disclaimer