This page looks different to our usual site because it is from our back catalogue. More recent articles are here.


Olympic dressage judges long listed

August 2, 2011

A long list of 11 five-star dressage judges from around the world for next year's Olympic Games has been announced by the FEI.

Stephen Clarke
A blind draw of the long listed judges, from eight nations, will take place at FEI headquarters in Switzerland on September 23 to finalise the members of the London 2012 Olympic Ground Jury.

The long list comprises:
Stephen Clarke (GBR)
Maribel Alonso (MEX)
Evi Eisenhardt (GER)
Wim Ernes (NED)
Ghislain Fouarge (NED)
Isabelle Judet (FRA)
Gary Rockwell (USA)
Jean-Michel Roudier (FRA)
Mary Seefried (AUS)
Leif Törnblad (DEN)
Katrina Wüst (GER)

Stephen Clarke, as a host country judge, has already been appointed as President of the Ground Jury.

Jacques Van Daele (BEL) will take on the role of Chief Dressage Steward for London 2012 and Wojtek Markowski (POL) is Technical Delegate.

"The FEI's Dressage Committee has proposed the long list according to FEI rules, which state that there can be up to 12 5* judges, a maximum of two per country and from a minimum of eight countries," said Trond Asmyr, FEI Director Dressage and Para-Equestrian Dressage.

"We are now looking forward to announcing the final list of highly respected international judges who will form the Ground Jury for London 2012."

Olympic Dressage gets under way at Greenwich Park on August 2, 2012, with two days of Grand Prix competition, the first qualifier for both team and individual standings. The top seven teams and 11 best-placed individuals go forward to the Grand Prix Special on August 7, which will decide the team medals. The Freestyle to Music to decide the individual medals takes place on August 9.



Affiliate disclaimer