This page looks different to our usual site because it is from our back catalogue. More recent articles are here.


Award for Hickstead's owners

October 20, 2010

Hickstead's owners have been named "Owner of the Year" by the Jumping Owners Club for the second year running.

Christian Baillet, Chairman of the Jumping Owners Club, and FEI First Vice President Sven Holmberg present the owners award to Eric Lamaze. © FEI/Kit Houghton
Hickstead and Canadian rider Eric Lamaze continued their superb form to maintain their position as the most successful horse and rider combination in 2009, earning joint owners lamaze and John Fleischhacker the prestigious title.

Christian Baillet, Chairman of the Jumping Owners Club, and FEI First Vice President Sven Holmberg presented the award to Eric Lamaze. The ceremony took place during the World Equestrian Games in Lexington, Kentucky.

Jumping Owners Club chairman Christian Baillet said the pair had an outstanding partnership "and deserve recognition for their many successes."

Formed in 2005 and supported by Rolex, the Jumping Owners Club is an exclusive organisation of international owners which works towards growing the popularity of the sport around the world. It is the only body which represents the views and opinions of the owners, and works closely alongside the FEI in building the profile and inclusiveness of jumping.

"It's an honour to win this award for a second time, this has been a great year. I'd like to thank everyone behind us as without their hard work, much of our success would not have been possible," Lamaze said.

The FEI Owner of the Year Award was created in 2004 to recognise the most successful owner of each year in the discipline of Jumping. To determine the winner, a classification is established for all horse and rider combinations based on points obtained for the Rolex Rankings during the calendar year. The owner of the horse of the winning combination receives the award; a bronze sculpture produced by Caroline Wallace and a silver picture frame presented by Rolex.

Bruno Meier, Chief Executive Officer of Rolex, was on hand to present the picture frame to Eric Lamaze.

Previous winners of this award were John, Pat and Lisa Hales (GBR) for Arko III in 2004 and 2005, Serena Hamberg (AUT) for The Sixth Sense in 2006, Nancy Clark (USA) for Shutterfly in 2007, and Eric Lamaze (CAN) and John Fleischhacker (USA) for Hickstead in 2008.



Affiliate disclaimer