This page looks different to our usual site because it is from our back catalogue. More recent articles are here.


Home-based Aussies dominate WEG eventing team

September 1, 2010

Australian eventing selectors have named a squad of six riders and horses for the World Equestrian Games in Kentucky, which start later this month.

Christopher Burton and Holstein Park Leilani after winning the 2010 HSBC FEI World Cup Eventing Qualifier at the Sydney International Equestrian Centre. © Franz Venhaus
The team comprises Australian-based riders Christopher Burton and Holstein Park Leilani; Sonja Johnson and Ringwould Jaguar, Stuart Tinney with either Vettori or Panamera, and Megan Jones and Kirby Park Irish Jester; and British based riders Paul Tapner and Inonothing and Sam Griffiths and Happy Times.

Australian Eventing Head Coach Wayne Roycroft said it was a very strong team. "We have a good mix of riders, and some experienced riders. Hopefully we can come back with a really good medal and make sure we qualify for the London Olympics."

The Australian based horses leave from Sydney on September 13.

• Selectors have also named the Australian dressage team for the Games.

They are:
Hayley Beresford and Relampago do Retiro
Lyndal Oatley and Potifar
Brett Parbery and Victory Salute
Rachael Sanna and Jaybee Alabaster


Get article updates - equine research and information


Affiliate disclaimer