Starters named for World Cup dressage final

March 23, 2009

US riders Leslie Morse and Jan Ebeling have been granted Wild Cards to start in the 24th FEI World Cup Final Dressage, in Las Vegas next month.

The decision on the wild cards was made by FEI director dressage Eva Salomon yesterday. Morse will ride Kingston and Ebeling will ride Rafalca in the event, from April 15-19. It was Salomon's last decision in her role as she is leaving the FEI Bureau.

There are now 15 riders who will vie for the World Cup, led by title defender Anky van Grunsven of The Netherlands, who will ride IPS Painted Black. She automatically qualified after having started the horse in two qualifiers. Her defending champion Salinero does not get the start as he did not compete in the required number of qualification events. The rule over two qualifying events was first set six years ago.

The qualifiers are:

Title defender
1. Anky van Grunsven IPS Painted Black (NED)

Western European League
2. Isabell WERTH Satchmo or Warum Nicht FRH (GER)
3. Adelinde CORNELISSEN Parzival (NED)
4. Hans Peter MINDERHOUD Exquis Nadine (NED)
5. Monica THEODORESCU Whisper (GER)
6. Jan BRINK Briar (SWE)
7. Jeannette HAAZEN Nartan (NED)
8. Minna TELDE Don Charly (SWE)

Central European League
9. Michael Rapcewicz Randon (POL)

Pacific League
10. Heath Ryan Regardez Moi (AUS)

North American League
11. Steffen Peters Ravel (USA) 12. Ashley Holzer Pop Art (CAN)

South American/Asia:
13. Marco Bernal Diamore (COL)

FEI Wild Cards
14. Leslie Morse Kingson (USA) 15. Jan Ebeling Rafalca (USA)

Those not qualifying for the final include Finland's Kyra Kyrklund and Max, who did not earn enough points; and British rider Laura Bechtolsheimer, who did not compete in Gotenburg due to family obligations.


Sign up for Horsetalk's eNews