Renowned US showjumper to receive lifetime achievement award

Kathy Kusner is to receive the 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award from the US Equestrian Federation.
Kathy Kusner is to receive the 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award from the US Equestrian Federation. © USET Foundation Archives

Leading showjumping rider Kathy Kusner and eventing organiser Howard Simpson have been honored with the 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award from the US Equestrian Federation.

The pair will be presented with their awards at the Pegasus Awards Dinner Celebration during the 2022 US Equestrian Annual Meeting in Florida, on Thursday, January 13.

Kusner, from Playa Vista, California, has not only won Olympic and Pan American Games medals for her country, but she is also renowned as a true pioneer who broke barriers for other women in horse sports and has devoted much of her life to horses and equestrianism.

Kusner, now 81, was one of the first women selected to the United States Equestrian Team to compete at the Olympic Games. She represented the US at the Tokyo Games in 1964, the Mexico City Games in 1968, and the Munich Games in 1972, where she was part of the silver medal-winning team. Riding for the team at the 1963 Pan American Games in São Paolo, Kusner earned a team gold, then followed up four years later with team silver at the Winnipeg Pan American Games.

Kusner is also a famed trailblazer in Thoroughbred racing; in 1968, she became the first female jockey licensed to ride races in the United States.

“Her countless achievements in equestrian competition are rivaled only by her service outside the competition ring,” US Equestrian said.

“She is the founder of the nonprofit Horses in the Hood, which works with inner-city communities in Los Angeles to introduce young people to horses and their care.

Kathy Kusner and Fleet Apple helped the US team to silver at the 1972 Olympic Games in Munich. © FEI
Kathy Kusner and Fleet Apple helped the US team to silver at the 1972 Olympic Games in Munich. © FEI

“A member of the Show Jumping Hall of Fame, Kusner also has conducted numerous clinics and lectures around the world, has served as a course designer and jumping commentator, and published articles for equestrian publications.”

The Lifetime Achievement Award for Howard Simpson is the latest in a long list of accolades.

Simpson, from Lake Forest, Illinois, grew up fox hunting and later served as Master of the Foxhounds for the Mill Creek Hunt.

Howard Simpson.
Howard Simpson when he received the Sallie Bush Wheeler Award in 2015. © Adam Brennan –

Simpson married the late Martha Smith Simpson in 1984, and the next year, their family’s Tempel Farms hosted the first American Continental Young Riders Championship. In 1988, the competition became the North American Young Rider Championships, which evolved into the North American Youth Championships.

In 1997, Simpson took over as the sole organizer of the NAYC and provided financial support for the program. He served as the director of the NAYC for more than 20 years and Tempel Farms hosted the championships 13 times between 1985 and 2004.

In 1997 Simpson was honored with the Wofford Cup, an award that is chosen each year by past recipients to recognize those that have given back to the sport of eventing, as well as a Governor’s Cup from the US Eventing Association (USEA). In 2002 Simpson received the Towerheads’ Distinguished Service to the Industry Award, and in 2004 he was the winner of the USEF Perpetual Sportsmanship Award.

Simpson also received the Sallie Bush Wheeler Award in 2011 and 2015 and the Pegasus Medal of Honor in 2015. Simpson was chosen to receive the USEA President’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2016, and was inducted into the USEA’s Hall of Fame in 2018.

In addition to his work with NAYC, Simpson was involved in site selection for important events. In December 1996, Simpson and Captain Mark Phillips investigated potential sites for the first four-star (now five-star) in North America, eventually recommending the Kentucky Three-Day Event. Simpson also led the evaluation team that recommended the Maryland 5 Star at Fair Hill as the second CCI5*-L in North America.

Simpson has been active in the governance of equestrian sport over the years. He was on the Board of Directors and several committees and councils for US Equestrian. He was on the Board of Governors, served as Vice-President of Communications, and is currently a member of the Rebecca Broussard International Developing Rider Grant Selection Committee for the United States Eventing Association Foundation.

Junior Equestrian of the Year

Sophia Huffman, from Lewiston, Idaho, has been named Junior Equestrian of the Year and will receive her award at next month’s Pegasus Awards Dinner Celebration.

A member of the Arabian Horse Association, Huffman is active in the show pen with her half-Arabian gelding Kholorado Khowboy SA, with whom she has earned multiple titles in ranch riding, Western horsemanship, showmanship, and trail. But her proudest accomplishment is her deep bond with “Khody” and their development together as a team. At the prestigious 2021 Scottsdale Arabian Horse Show, Huffman earned top-10 awards in every performance class she entered and a reserve championship in showmanship. She also was named the Arabian Horse Association’s Youth of the Year in 2021.

“Huffman’s passion for the Arabian horse extends beyond competing with her horse. She also is an accomplished youth judge, having won a national championship with the highest overall score at the AHA Youth Judging Contest’s national contest in 2020,” US Equestrian said.

“Huffman has a record of service to her sport as chair of the Grassroots Committee on the Region 5 Youth Board, where she is helping to spread her love for horses and showing.”

Also being honored at the Pegasus Awards:

Ellen Scripps Davis Memorial Breeders’ Award – Sporting Chance Farm
Kip Rosenthal Memorial High Score Equitation Award – Zayna Rizvi
Pegasus Medal of Honor – Susan Morey, Dr. Timothy Ober, Roxanne Trunnell, and Elisabeth Williams
Richard E. McDevitt Award of Merit – Anne Barlow Ramsay, Naomi Blumenthal, Vickey Bowman, Tremaine Cooper, Joanne Crockett, John Franzreb, Grace Greenlee, Lewis Haines, Sue Hershey, Mason Phelps, Richard Taylor, Glena Wirtanen, and Jodi Zeier
Sallie Busch Wheeler Trophy – To be announced at the Pegasus Awards Dinner Celebration
USEF/EQUUS Foundation Humanitarian Award – Octavia Brown
USEF Youth Sportsman’s Award – Rebecca Share
Walter B. Devereux Sportsmanship Award – Ralph Caristo

Latest research and information from the horse world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.