Jumper aces his one weekend job

Nicole White and Cricklewood Ace.
Nicole White and Cricklewood Ace. © Annie Studholme

Invercargill’s Nicole White made it back-to-back wins on Cricklewood Ace in the Young Rider title class at New Zealand’s National Showjumping Championships in Christchurch on Saturday.

White came to the championships with one mission for Cricklewood Ace, and goes home with the one she wanted. It was his only class of the whole weekend.

“I am absolutely thrilled. It’s my last year in Young Rider and this is what we came here for,” she said.

Eleven started the class, with a North versus South Young Rider Challenge adding extra incentive for the riders.

Just four returned for the jump-off against the clock, with local rider and current Young Rider of the Year Rose Alfeld on My Super Nova and Emily Hayward-Morgan and AP Ninja taking rails. Next to go White and Cricklewood Ace produced another faultless performance coming home in a speedy 40.66 seconds. Last to go, Samantha Morrison gave it all on Biarritz, but despite coming home quicker in 40.20 seconds, she paid for it with one fence down handing White the title for the second year running.

There was just one rail in the team’s competition with the North Islanders taking the honours and the inaugural Cricklewood Ace Trophy donated by the White family.

The Total Realty Telford Junior Rider was an equally exciting competition with 10 going through to the jump-off, but in the end the honours lay squarely with Gisborne’s Larina Dolman on Kiwi Lansing, backing up from success in the Platinum Performance Goldengrove Stud Seven Year Old Championship on Thursday.

The Betavet Caledonian Amateur was won by Anna Douglass on St Henry with a superior jump-off while the Tavern Harewood ESNZ Pro Am was won by Zoe Shore on Zara.

With the second round of all the other championship classes held today, there were many changes at the top of the leaderboards. Only the top 20 start in the finals on Sunday, with riders riding in reverse order of placings.



T&M Nurseries Canterbury Equestrian Young Rider Series: Nicole White (Invercargill) Cricklewood Ace 1, Samantha Morrison (Tauranga) Biarritz 2, Emily Hayward-Morgan (Te Awamutu) AP Ninja 3, Rose Alfeld (West Melton) My Super Nova 4, Briar Burnett-Grant (Taupo) Ngahiwi Telephonic 5, Olivia Robertson (Ohoka) DHs Ceniki 6. 

Total Realty Telford Junior Rider Series: Larina Dolma (Gisborne) Kiwi Lansing 1, Emily Hayward-Morgan (Te Awamutu) Yandoo Lady Gold 2, Georgia Massie (Dannevirke) Kiwi Ironheart 3, Briar Burnett-Grant (Taupo) Dunstan Carlo 4, Lucinda Askin (Ashburton) IQ 5, Georgia Massie (Dannevirke) Double J Cloud 9 6. 

Betavet Caledonian Amateur Rider Series: Anna Douglass (Timaru) St Henry 1, Vicky Shore (Ashburton/UK) Chanel GNZ 2, Janine Burton (Christchurch) Tui B 3, Sarah Swarbrick (Waimate) Tricidity 4, Kirsty Sharapoff (West Melton) Shoot The Breeze 5, Dana Sutton (Waipara) Down Wind 6. 

Tavern Harewood ESNZ Pro Am: Zoe Shore (Ashburton) Zara 1, Lauren Buckley (Queenstown) Icey Storm 2, Amanda Roy (Clinton) Rumours NZPH 3, Sally Clark (Dannevirke) Victorias Secret 4, Kate Taylor (Kurow) Next 5, Angela Lissington (Ambelery) Donala Dundee 6. 

Wilcox/Perlas Potatoes/June Cresswell Memorial 1.30m Championship Overall standings (after two days of competition): Duncan McFarlane (Taupo) NZ Powerfull 1, Claudia Hay (Mosgiel) Euro Sport Heartbreaker 2, Rose Alfeld (West Melton) Capprera 3, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Mandalay Cove 4, Kate Taylor (Kurow) Next 5, Phillip Steiner (Tauranga) On The Point Bijoux 6. 

Saddlery Barn NZ 1.20m Championship Second Round: Georgia Massie (Dannervirke) Double J Cloud 9 1, Samantha Bult (Auckland) Something Samuel 2, Zoe Shore (Ashburton) Burberry 3, Louise Marriot (Christchurch) Concur 4, Lucinda Askin (Ashburton) IQ 5, Katie Laurie (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Dorothy II 6. Overall standings (after two days of competition): Zoe Shore (Ashburton) Burberry 1, Samantha Bult (Auckland) Samuel Something 2, Louise Marriot (Christchurch) Concur 4, Georgia Massie (Dannevirke) Double J Cloud 9 5, Zoe Shore (Ashburton) Olympia NZPH 6. 

Rainer Irrigation ESNZ NZ Open Pony Championship Second Round: Lucy Turner (Broadfields) Tallyho Mystic 1, Steffi Whittaker (Springston) Moonlight Glow 2, Parys Marshall (Auckland) Spot You Later 3, Molly Buist-Brown (Burnham) Miss Mae West 4, Briar Burnett-Grant (Taupo) Kabo Silver 5, Briar Burnett-Grant (Taupo) Pioneer Jade 6. Overall standings (after two days of competition): Steffi Whittaker (Springston) Moonlight Glow 1, Briar Burnett-Grant (Taupo) Kabo Silver 2, Molly Buist-Brown (Burnham) Miss Mae West 3, Briar Burnett-Grant (Taupo) Pioneer Jade 4, Grace O’Sullivan (Rangiora) Galaxy Masterpiece 5, Parys Marshall (Auckland) Spot You Later 6.  

Equissage NZ 1.10m Pony Championship Second Round: Jamiee Bird (Rakaia) Showtym Image 1, Georgie Goodworth () Tui Hills Copper Abbie 2, Molly Buist-Brown (Burnham) Yippee Ki Yay 3, Parys Marshall () Limerick’s Black Samba 4, Bailey Rutter (Balclutha) Kennebrook 007 5, Sophie Townsend (Darfield) Tallyho Neptune 6. Overall Standings (after two days of competition): Molly Buist-Brown (Burnham) Yippee Ki Yay 1, Jamiee Bird (Rakaia) Showtym Image 2, Bailey Rutter (Balclutha) Kennbrook 007 3, Courtney Townsend (Darfield) SS Express 4, Courtney Townsend (Darfield) Watch Me Cruise 5, Sophie Scott (Wellington) Benrose Playtime 6.


Latest research and information from the horse world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.