Britain loses Ben Maher and Cella from WEG jumping team

Ben Maher and Cella
Ben Maher and Cella. © Sportfot

Britain’s showjumping team for the Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games will be without world number three ranked rider Ben Maher, whose horse Cella has sustained an over-reach injury and has been withdrawn.

The injury to the 12-year-old grey mare was announced by the British Equestrian Federation just before the team was to depart for Fance for the jumping competition, which gets under way on Tuesday in Normandy.

Jessie Drea, 22, from West Sussex, has been elevated to travelling reserve for the team with Lynne Humphries’ 13-year-old chestnut mare Touchable.

Drea will travel to Normandy with British team members Scott Brash (Hello Sanctos), Joe Clee (Utamaro d’Ecaussines), Spencer Roe (Wonder Why) and Michael Whitaker (Viking V).

“It is sad that Cella, with all her experience, is out of the competition,” said Chef d’mission Will Connell.

Bertram Allen and Molly Malone V.
Bertram Allen and Molly Malone V.

“However I am pleased that Jessie who is a talented up and coming rider gets the opportunity to go to her first senior Championship.”

Drea is a UK Sport National Lottery funded World Class Development Programme rider. Having been a part of the winning Division Two team at the CSIO3* Nations Cup in Odense, Denmark, earlier in the year, the combination also helped the team to an overall fourth place in their first Division one call up for the Nations Cup at the CS105* CHIO Rotterdam in the Netherlands.

Drea and Touchable represented Great Britain out at the CSI2* Test Event for WEG, finishing just outside the top ten in the 1m45 class.

The show jumping takes place in the d’Ornano Stadium starting on September 2 with a speed competition. Wednesday and Thursday will see the first Individual Qualifier and Team competition, with the third Individual Qualifying competition on Saturday and the Individual Final on Sunday, September 7.

• Ireland’s show jumping team has also been announced by manager Robert Splaine.

Ireland will compete, in alphabetical order, as:

Bertram Allen with Ballywalter Farms’s Molly Malone V
Cameron Hanley with Eleonore Paschoud and Yves Bouvier’s Antello Z
Darragh Kenny with Hyperion Stud’s Imothep
Denis Lynch with Thomas Straumann’s All Star 5

The travelling reserve for the Irish team is Conor Swail with Ariel and Susan Grange’s Lansdowne.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *