Scholarship support for 34 US students pursuing career in equine medicine


Thirty-four veterinary students pursuing a career in equine medicine have received financial support through the Winner’s Circle Scholarship Program, co-sponsored by the American Association of Equine Practitioners’ Foundation, Platinum Performance and The Race for Education.

The Winner’s Circle scholarships are intended to help ease the financial burden of a veterinary education by providing fourth-year students at each of the association’s 36 student chapters in North America with scholarships ranging from $US1500 to $US5000, depending on the needs of the individual student.

Students are nominated from each chapter and selected for scholarships based on their leadership roles and dedication to a future in equine health care.

In some cases where a student chapter was not represented in the applicant pool, scholarship funds were re-allocated to additional qualified applicants from other student chapters.

“Veterinary school debt is at an all-time high and can be a real challenge for future equine practitioners,” the foundation’s chairman, Jeff Berk, said.

“The Winner’s Circle Scholarship Program is an important source of assistance to some of the best and brightest students as they prepare to embark upon their equine veterinary careers.”

Platinum Performance president Mark Herthel said: “These bright young students will be on the forefront of the next generation of equine healthcare.

“We are proud to support the future of veterinary medicine.”

A total of 18 students received $US1500 scholarships; 16 others received $US5000 scholarships, which included $US4000 in funds from a federal matching grant that the Race for Education received from the Assets for Independence program administered by the US Department of Health and Human Services Administration for Children and Families.

An additional 15 applicants not selected for Winner’s Circle scholarships also received $US4000 awards through the federal matching grant.

Since its establishment in 2008, the Winner’s Circle Scholarship Program has provided $US905,500 in scholarships to 228 veterinary students bound for careers in equine medicine.

The 2014 recipients are:

  • Bradley Back, University of Prince Edward Island
  • Zach Badura, Iowa State University
  • Kimberly Bruce, Oregon State University
  • Kayla Dykstra, University of Calgary
  • Joanna Eng, Oklahoma State University
  • Mailie Fanning, Western University of Health Sciences
  • Patrick First, Mississippi State University
  • Travis Holland, Louisiana State University
  • Nichole Hughes, University of Florida
  • Elodie Huguet, University of Georgia
  • Ricci Karkula, Texas A&M University
  • Alessandra Keenan, University of Georgia
  • Kari Kurtz, Michigan State University
  • Rebecca Legere, Kansas State University
  • Craig Lesser, Colorado State University
  • Alexandra Linn, University of Minnesota
  • Ana Malone Oliver, University of Pennsylvania
  • Marisa Markey, Ontario Veterinary College
  • Carly Mayer, Virginia Tech
  • Andrew McClain, Purdue University
  • Kaitlin McDonald, University of Calgary
  • Kristina McGinnis, North Carolina State University
  • Lauren Mundy, Ohio State University
  • Jillian Paegelow, University of Missouri
  • Allison Parnell, University of Tennessee
  • Lauren Pasch, University of Wisconsin
  • Jacqueline Pasko, University of Minnesota
  • Hilary Rice, Washington State University
  • Jeremy Shaba, Ontario Veterinary College
  • Jared Sharp, Oregon State University
  • Jelline Vautier, University of California-Davis
  • Samantha Weaver, University of Tennessee
  • Stacy Whitton, University of Illinois
  • Kara Young, Ohio State University

Latest research and information from the horse world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.