US national award for Jessica Springsteen

Jessica Springsteen and Vindicat W.
Jessica Springsteen and Vindicat W.

US showjumper Jessica Springsteen has been honored with the 2014 Maxine Beard Award, which was presented before the American Invitational in Miami, Florida, last weekend.

The award recognises Springsteen’s competitive record and potential to represent the United States in international competition.

Jessica Springsteen
Jessica Springsteen

Springsteen, who is 22, hails from Colts Neck, New Jersey. She attends Duke University where she is a psychology major, and splits her time riding and showing with studying and attending classes.

Her success in the show ring began at a young age, and she took top honors at the country’s most prestigious events throughout her junior years. In 2008, she won the ASPCA Maclay National Championship, and in 2009 she won the George H. Morris Excellence in Equitation Championship.

“She was one of the most decisive winners of the ASPCA Maclay Championship,” Morris said. “She had a great career as a junior, and she has a very promising career as a Grand Prix rider. She’s very competitive and always does great under pressure. I think she is a very deserving winner.”

In 2010, Springsteen claimed the North American Junior and Young Rider Championship Show Jumping Young Rider Bronze medal aboard Vornado Van Den Hoendrik. In 2013, Springsteen paired up with Vindicat W to win the $15,000 RCG Farm Show Jumping Hall of Fame High Amateur-Owner Classic during Week VI and the $82,000 Suncast 1.50m Jumper Classic during Weeks IX and XII of the Winter Equestrian Festival.

Her success on the circuit continued this year with a second place finish in the $280,000 FEI World Cup Grand Prix CSI-W 4*, and a third place finish in the Ruby Et Violette WEF Challenge Cup Round XII, as well as the $500,000 FTI Consulting Finale Grand Prix CSI5*. Springsteen and Vindicat W have competed as part of the Global Champions Tour for the past two years, and Springsteen has represented the United States during Nations Cup competitions.

US Chef d’Equipe Robert Ridland said: “I am very excited that Jessica has won the Maxine Beard Award. The whole emphasis that we have been trying to place over the last year is keeping the pipeline in order between our veterans at the top and the next generation of riders, and Jessica is a part of that. She has tremendous talent. I know that her priorities are divided since she is a full-time college student, but I fully endorse her priorities, and she’s a rider that has potential to be involved in the sport at the highest level.”

Springsteen said she was very excited to be the recipient of the Maxine Beard award.

“It is a great honor,” she said. “I am thrilled to have been chosen by the USET Foundation and to be added to a list of such talented riders. Watching the top riders in the world compete is an invaluable learning experience and is incredibly inspirational.”

At the Maxine Beard Award presentation, from left, Phillip Richter, Bruce Springsteen, Patti Scialfa, Ronnie Beard, Jessica Springsteen, and S. Tucker S. Johnson.
At the Maxine Beard Award presentation, from left, Phillip Richter, Bruce Springsteen, Patti Scialfa, the late Maxine Beard’s son Ronnie Beard, Jessica Springsteen, and S. Tucker S. Johnson.

Previous Recipients of the Maxine Beard Award:
2013 – Saer Coulter
2012 – Katie Dinan
2011 – Ali Wolff
2010 – Nick Dello Joio
2009 – Ashlee Bond and Michelle Spadone
2008 – Hillary Dobbs
2007 – Brianne Goutal
2006 – Charlie Jayne
2005 – Cayce Harrison
2004 – Georgina Bloomberg
2003 – Michael Morrissey and Paige Johnson
2002 – Molly Warmington
2001 – Kent Farrington and Richard Rinehart
2000 – Kate Levy and Marilyn Little
1999 – Kate Levy and Emily Williams
1998 – Jamie Schmidt and Heather Caristo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *