Double clear wins Canterbury champs for Robertson

Olivia Robertson and Ngahiwi Cisco.
Olivia Robertson and Ngahiwi Cisco. © Annie Studholme

Olivia Robertson has finished the South Island jumping circuit on a high after continuing her winning ways at the ESNZ Show Jumping Canterbury 3* Canterbury Championships at the weekend.

The promising Ohoka young rider saved the best until last nabbing her biggest win of the season when winning the 10-strong 1* Horse Grand Prix aboard Ngahiwi Cisco with the class’s only double clear. Invercargill’s Nicole White finished second with Cricklewood Ace on 8 faults, ahead of Kate Cavanagh on Vermont also on 8 faults.

Robertson’s win came hot on the heels of her success in the 1.20m Championship and Show Hunter Horse class aboard Arovet Li the previous weekend at the 20th annual NZ National Jumping and Show Hunter Championships.

It also gave her victory in the Show Jumping Canterbury Horse Grand Prix Series (which is run over all Show Jumping Canterbury’s shows), while her third in the Telford Young Rider behind Northland visitor Amanda Wilson on Showtym Viking and Showtym Cassanova sealed the Show Jumping Canterbury Young Rider Series as well.

Robertson also guided the imported mare DH’s Ceniki to win the Outpost Seven Year Old with the only clear round.

It was Robertson’s last show before a North Island campaign which takes in the prestigious Horse of the Year Show in Hastings next month.

Vicki and Amanda Wilson concluded their southern campaign with several wins. Aside from Amanda’s quinella in the Young Rider, she was also successful in the Bayer Super League SI Senior Horse Championship with Showtym Cassanova.

Just three started with local Susie Hayward on her stallion Andretti taking an early lead, finishing the first round on 13 penalties after having two fences down and collected an unfortunate 5 time penalties. Amanda and Showtym Cassanova produced the only clear in the second round to take the win on a total of 16 faults, with Hayward and Andretti second on 18, and Vicki and Ngahiwi Showtym Premier third on 20 faults.

Broadfield’s teen Lucy Turner (14) made it two from two, backing up from taking the NZ National Open Pony Grand Prix crown to win the Country TV Pony Grand Prix with Tallyho Mystic with the only double clear.

Current national Caledonian Amateur Series leader Anna Douglass increased her lead with another top win in the Amateur Rider on St Henry, while Jessica Sonne won the Junior rider title on Mimoa.

Perhaps the biggest action came in the hotly-contested $3000 1.20m Horse Futurity Stakes Final and the $3000 Tru Test 1.10m Horse Futurity Stakes Final.

After two days of qualifying (Friday and Saturday), 17 started the final of the 1.20m Horse Futurity Stakes Final with five combinations fighting it out in the jump-off, in which Chris Harris on Zilco Glenbrooke Archie Bunker produced the only clear round. Rose Alfeld finished second with Last Song as the fastest of the four faulters, ahead of Sally Spicer and Weiti Eros, third.

Nineteen combinations started in the Tru Test 1.10m Futurity Stakes Final with eventual honours going to Outram’s Rebecca Kerr on Tiraumea Curious George with the fastest time in the two-way jump-off. Vicki Wilson had to settle for second on Carrado MVNZ with Jenna Walls on Anahera third.

South Island show jumping continues this weekend for the Southland Area’s show at Gore, but many are already planning their northern campaigns.


Bayer Super League SI Senior Horse Championship: Amanda Wilson (Hikurangi) Showtym Cassanova 1, Susie Hayward (Ashburton) Andretti 2, Vicki Wilson (HikurangI) Ngahiwi Showtym Premier 3.

Marion Kelly Memorial One Star Horse Grand Prix: Olivia Robertson (Ohoka) Ngahiwi Cisco 1, Nicole White (Invercargill) Cricklewood Ace 2, Kate Cavanagh (West Melton) Vermont 3, Tegan Fitzsimon (West Melton) Dual Diamond 4, Brad Cunningham (Christchurch) Kiwi Crusher 5, Vicki Wilson(Hikurangi) Showtym Levado 6.

$3000 1.20m Futurity Stakes Final: Chris Harris (Alyesbury) Zilco Glenbrook Archie Bunker 1, Rose Alfeld (Leeston) Last Song 2, Sally Spicer (Weedons) Weiti Eros 3, William Willis (Karaka) Elleway 4, Courtney Davis (Waipara) By Hoki 5, Kayla James (Christchurch) Scenario 6.

Tru Test $3000 1.10 Futurity Stakes Final: Rebecca Kerr (Outram) Curious George 1, Vicki Wilson (Hikurangi) Carrado MVNZ 2, Jenna Walls (West Melton) Anahera 3, Harriet Gardner (Timaru) Artic Invader 4, Courtney Davis (Waipara) Dunrobin Sante Fe 5, Angela Ruddenklau (Kurow) Torcello 6.

Country TV Pony Grand Prix: Lucy Turner (Broadfields) Tallyho Mystic 1, Molly Buist-Brown (Templeton) Miss Mae West 2, Lucinda Askin (Ashburton) Totem 3, Steffi Whittaker (Halswell) Moonlight Glow 4, Lucinda Askin (Ashburton) Buckle Up 5, Grace O’Sullivan (Rangiora) Tui’s Gold 6.

Telford Young Rider: Amanda Wilson (Hikurangi) Showtym Viking 1, Amanda Wilson (Hikurangi) Showtym Cassanova 2, Olivia Robertson (Ohoka) Ngahiwi Cisco 3, Rose Alfeld (Leeston) My Super Nova 4, Nicole White (Invercargill) Cricklewood Ace 5.

Caledonian in conjunction with Betavet Amateur Rider: Anna Douglass (Timaru) St Henry 1, Candice Kingsbury (Ashburton) Miss Serendipity II 2, Gemma Ward-Smith (Palmerston North) Willoughby Magic 3, Rachel Holdsworth (Te Awamutu) Ngahiwi Legend 4, Kelsey Espin (Stratford) Glamorous 5, Kerry Winterbourne (Christchurch) Gingerlily 6.

KiwiSpan Junior Rider: Jessica Sonne (Springston) Mimoa 1, Harry Feast (Weedons) Double J Butler 2, Emily Hayward-Morgan (Te Awamutu) Yandoo Lady Gold 3, Georgie Urquhart (Fairlie) Sir Bob 4, Kayla James (Christchurch) Scenario 5, Maddison Thompson (Darfield) King John 6.

Outpost Buildings 7 Year Old: Olivia Robertson (Ohoka) DH’s Ceniki 1, Brad Cunningham (Christchurch) Kiwi Crusher 2, Amanda Brown (Rangiora) Glenmark 3, Angus Taylor (Ohoka) Ngahiwi Wirey 4.

Mitavite Munga 6 Year Old: Zoe Shore (Ashburton) Burberry 1.

Canterbury Equestrian 5 Year Old: Brad Cunningham (Christchurch) Kiwi Red Label 1.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend