New leadership for Equine Canada


canada-conventionlogoAl Patterson has been elected president of Equine Canada, and Michael Arbour has been named Interim CEO following the departure of Jean-Christophe Gandubert late last year.

Patterson takes over in the presidential role from Michael Gallagher, who remains on the board as a non-voting member.

Arbour also holds the role of Chief Financial Officer (CFO).

The positions were ratified along with the new Board of Directors at Equine Canada’s Annual General Meeting during its national convention from February 5 to 9, in Winnipeg Manitoba.

The new Board took office at the Annual General Meeting and will govern Equine Canada until the next AGM to be held February 2015.

“I am humbled and proud to have been elected to the position and look forward to working in collaboration with the Board this year,” Al Patterson said.

“They’re a great group of people from diverse backgrounds and I think it will be a strong team. As a Board, if we are able to realize the goals each set out in our discussions it will be an amazing year of accomplishments for the Board and the organization.”

Paterson thanked retiring directors Tony La Gorgia, Rosaire Houde, Tara Gamble, and Jan Stephens for service to the Board.

“I would also like to thank Michael Gallagher for his many years of tireless dedication and service in his many roles with Equine Canada. I’m sure he’ll be happy to finally have time to get his boat in the water and to spend time with his grandchildren. We wish him all the best as he moves onto his ‘retirement’. I have thoroughly enjoyed working with the retiring members; I will personally miss them all.”

Applications for the CEO role close on Friday, February 14, 2014.


The 2014 Board is comprised of: 
Al Patterson – President
Kerri McGregor – Secretary of the Board, Director-at-Large
Cheryl Denault – Treasurer
Peggy Hambly – Sport Representative
Isabel Reinertson – Sport Representative
TBD – Industry representative
Dean Leifso – Industry representative
Jack de Wit – Recreation representative
Les Oakes – Recreation representative
Paul Cote – Provinces representative
Shirley Brodsky – Provinces representative
Tony Eames – Director-at-Large
Karen Sparks – Director-at-Large
Michael Gallagher – Past President (non-voting)
Michael Arbour – Interim CEO and Equine Canada CFO

Latest research and information from the horse world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.