Local jumper scores in Ashburton 1*

Susie Hayward and Andretti.
Susie Hayward and Andretti. © www.anniestudholme.com

Local rider Susie Hayward has started the new season with a flier, winning the Ashburton Toyota 1* Horse Grand Prix with a faultless performance at the Ashburton Area Equestrian Sports New Zealand 1* Jumping and Showhunter Show yesterday.

Andretti showed no ill-effects of the sore feet which have kept him off the scene for almost a month, missing competitions in Taupo and Dannervirke. “He’s basically had no jump schooling. I was thrilled with the way he jumped today. He’s probably still not 100 per cent, but it was pleasing to know that despite that he still tried so hard. I think he was quite happy to be out!” laughed Hayward.

Ten started over the big Lex Peddie-designed track, with Tegan Fitzsimon and rising star Dual Diamond setting the early pace with a clear round. Fourth to go in the first round, Hayward and Andretti were also clear, followed by a super clear by Dunedin’s Brittany Whelan on George Jetson, fresh from a smart victory in the Mitavite South Island Young Rider on Saturday over Olivia Robertson on Ngahiwi Cisco.

Clear rounds came easier in the second round, with placings decided on time. Hayward proved too strong, posting a time of 57.13 to take the win with an impressive ride, leaving Whelan and George Jetson forced to settle for second, just ahead of Fitzsimon and Dual Diamond third, all posting double clears.

The win extends Hayward’s lead in the national 1* Horse Grand Prix series, and gets her 2013 season off to the best possible start with the business end of the season only weeks away. Hayward heads to South Canterbury North Otago next weekend before taking on the large Australian contingent at Ride The Rhythm in the $50,000 McMillian Equine Feeds Super Grand Prix in Dunedin on February 1.

“It’s great to get that first one out of the way,” says Hayward.

Halswell youngster Steffi Whittaker and Moonlight Glow’s unbeatable run continued in the Rainer Irrigation Pony Grand Prix, notching up her fifth individual Grand Prix win of the season. Whittaker and Moonlight Glow produced the only clear in the first round, and backed that up with an immaculate round in the second to take the honours. Riding in just her first Grand Prix, Rangiora’s Grace O’Sullivan and Tui Gold finished second on eight faults (four from each round), while local Emma Waite and Spring Brooke took third on eight faults from the first round.

The 20-strong Kiwi Span Junior Rider went to Sally Spicer on Weiti Eros coming up trumps in the jump-off, while the hotly-contested Caledonia Amateur Rider was won by Jenna Walls and Baltamour.


RESULTS:- Ashburton Toyota 1* Horse Grand Prix – Susie Hayward (Ashburton) Andretti 1, Brittany Whelan (Dunedin) George Jetson 2, Tegan Fitzsimon (Rolleston) Dual Diamond 3, Nicole White (Invercargill) Cricklewood Ace 4, Claudia Hay (Mosgiel) Euro Sport Heartbreaker 5, Claudia Hay (Mosgel) Euro Sport Centavos 6.

Rainer Irrigation Pony Grand Prix Series – Steffi Whittaker (Halswell) Moonlight Glow 1, Grace O’Sullivan (Rangiora) 2, Emma Waite (Ashburton) Spring Brooke 3, Sarah Parkes (Tuamarina) Tallyho Maestro 4, Jaimee Bird (Rakaia) Showtym Image 5, Lucinda Askin (Ashburton) Buckle Up 6.

Midlands Seeds 1.30m Horse Championship – Juliet Scott (Cave) Amarula MVNZ 1, Georgina Power (Little River) Waldorf 2, Georgina Power (Little River) Brooklynite 3, Olivia Robertson (Ohoka) Ngahiwi Cisco 4, Devon Van Til (Rangiora) Akubra 5, Anna Redmond (Ashburton) Up To Date 6.

Coulter Seeds KiwiSpan Junior Rider – Sally Spicer (Christchurch) Weiti Eros 1, Rose Alfeld (Weedons) Capprera 2, Tamara Silcock (Upper Moutere) Brea AF 4, Georgie Sciciliano (Perth, Western Australia) Yalambi’s Soltarella 4, Hayley Morris (Oxford) Livewire II 5, Danielle Guiver (Nelson) My Sassy Cat 6.

Betavet Caledonian Amateur Rider – Jenna Walls (West Melton) Baltamour 1, Angela Lissington (Amberley) Donala Dundee 2, Ashley Whitting (Woodend) Tricky Buizness 3, Jacquita Farquhar (Outram) Rustic Moonlight 4, Jackie Wear  Guscott 5, Jacquie Crutchley (Christchurch) Hot Chocolate II 6.

Fiber Fresh MItavite South Island Young Rider Series – Brittany Whelan (Dunedin) George Jetson 1, Olivia Robertson (Ohoko) Ngahiwi Cisco 2, Katie Meredith (Ohoka) Applaud 3, Katie Meredith (Ohoka) Critter 4, Nicole White (Invercargill) Cricklewood Ace 5, Devon Van Til (Rangiora) Akubra 6.

Fernhill Stud 5 Year Old Series – Zoe Shore (Ashburton) Burberry 1, Kate Cavanagh (West Melton) MG 2, Brad Cunningham (Christchurch) Trader 3, Chris Harris (Alyesbury) Zilco Glenbrook e Archie Bun 4.

Global Performance Horses Mitavite 6 Year Old Series – Angus Taylor (Ohoka) Ngahiwi Wirey 1.

Andretti Brackley Farm Cushionride 7 Year Old Series – Kate Taylor (Kurow) Next 1, Angela Ruddenklau (Kurow) Bambino 2, Rose Alfeld (Weedons) My Super Nova 3.



Latest research and information from the horse world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.