Horse-Ball World Cup starts Nov 7


The draw for competition at the Horse-Ball World Cup will be made on November 7, with eight teams meeting in two different pools of four teams.

It is the second World Cup for the sport, and will run from November 7 to 11 at France’s Montpellier Exhibitions Park.

Qualifying matches will be spread over four days to leave a day of rest for each team. The participating nations are Algeria, England, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Spain, France and Portugal. Italy had last-minute problems and is unable to take part.

In the International Youth Tournament, the Heinz Wolff Cup, six teams will take part: Australia, Circolo Novi (Italy), Italy Regional, Regional Languedoc-Roussillon  (France), Meurchin (France) and Creissant (France).

The teams will be divided into two groups of three, with the two winning teams of each group will play in the final.

  • Group 1: Regionale Italy, Languedoc-Roussillon Regionale (FRA) and Australia
  • Group 2: Creissant (FRA), Meurchin (FRA), Circolo di Novi (ITA)

There will be 124 riders at the event.

Horse-Ball was born in France in the 1930s. The current rules were decided in France in the late 1970s.

In 1990, Horse-Ball spread to other European countries. In 1992 the first European Championship was organised in Paris where 6 countries are involved in Horse-Ball: Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Portugal, and the United Kingdom.

The FIHB has been recognised by FEI since April 2004, and the discipline is recognised in FEI Group I and II.

FIHB organises and promotes international events, sets up international rules, and monitors and selects referees.

» What is Horse-Ball?

Latest research and information from the horse world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *