Canterbury dominates Springston Trophy three-day-event

Springston Trophy teams parade. [File image]
Springston Trophy teams parade. [File image]
Canterbury teams dominated the 2012 edition of pony club’s Springston Trophy three-day-event competition, with View Hill Red emerging the victors in the competition at Motukarara.

Hosted by the Waihora Pony Club and run on their grounds at the weekend, the cross-country also took in part of the Motukarara racecourse.

Just 21 teams started in the event this year, down from previous competitions. Springston Trophy is the largest pony club teams event in the Southern Hemisphere.

View Hill Red led from the dressage phase with 127.37, but were overtaken on the cross-country by Amberley White, which ultimately finished second. Eyreton, winners in 2010, were just behind these two teams in all three phases, finishing third overall.

Halswell was fourth, just ahead of the Amberley Red team.

In the Wooden Spoon competition – for teams who didn’t complete the cross-country – the composite team from Otipua/Waimea/Greymouth  won from Mosgiel, with a composite North Otago team third, and the Clyde/Southern composite team fourth.


Team results:

1 View Hill Red (Georgia Bonner – Paipllon / Jessie Fitzjohn – What’s the Buzz / Lucy Walker – Picollo / Beth Turner – Legacy / Stephanie Jasperse – Woodbine Chatter / Brittany Fowler – Pavarotti of Mitondale)

2 Amberly White (Davina Waddy – Milburn Maringo / Courtney Davis – By Hoki / Katrina Douglas – Born to be Wild / Alex Myers – Double A Morning Star / Jacob Torrie – Whodunnit / Samantha McGoverne – Ryan’s Doll)

3 Eyreton (Sophie Abbott – Johnny Suede / Olivia Robertson – Tiki Taane / Alex Meredith – Mertz / Charlotte Lindo – Awatea Splashout / Grace O’Sullivan – Halcyon Mozart / Jessica Brechin – Miscal)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend