Eventers win bull-ride challenge at Hickstead

John Whitaker rode the bull for 11 seconds.
John Whitaker rode the bull for 11 seconds.

There was a truly remarkable line up for the second leg of the Hit-air Pro Bull Rider Series at the Royal International at Hickstead.

Eventers challenged show jumpers on the Hit-air mechanical bull, in a charity fund raiser in aid of the Mark Davies Injured Riders fund.

Eventing pride was at stake after Trevor Breen took the crown for the show jumpers in the Amlin Plus Eventing Grand Prix.

The showjumping team included John and Robert Whittaker and Shane and Trevor Breen.

Official event team bull riders included Georgie Spence, Laura Collett, Jay Hamlin and Mark Kyle.

Steve Wilde and Jonty Evans whipped up the crowds once again as sticking power on Billy, the Hit-air mechanical bull, was tested to the limits.

Chaos reigned as the bull riders pulled in ringers from the crowd including Ellen Whittaker and Rob and Elizabeth Power. Hickstead’s very own Charlie Bunn was also roped in and clocked up a very respectable 28 seconds, beating many of the riders.

It was the eventers that proved supreme in the end, winning convincingly against the show jumpers. Georgie Spence took individual honours with an incredibly determined 59 second ride.

Sam Watson leads the series with his astonishing 70 second ride and will defend his lead in the final leg at Horse World Live at ExCel in November.

Rachel Ricci from Hit-air said: “We are thrilled that top riders are really backing this fund raising series.  It has been great to witness their sheer determination and team spirit. Training sessions will be held before the finale at Excel in November!”


Results of the 2nd leg of the Hit-air Pro Bull rider series:

Georgie Spence 59 seconds
Laura Collett 51 seconds
Austin O’Connor 43 seconds
Robert Whitaker 41 seconds
Steve Macken 40 seconds
Jay Halim 31 seconds
Will Fletcher 28 seconds
Charlie Bunn 27 seconds
Trevor Breen 25 seconds
Mark Kyle 23 seconds
Ellen Whitaker 14 seconds
Rob Power 13 seconds
Tom O’Brien 12 seconds
Elizabeth Power 11 seconds
John Whitaker 11 seconds
Shane Breen 10 seconds


Latest research and information from the horse world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.