Ireland has 13 confirmed for Badminton

Louise Lyons and Watership Down. © Mike Bain

Ireland has 13 riders accepted for the four-star Badminton Horse Trials in May, with the event a vital part of the country’s selection process for the Olympic Games.

Badminton, which is broadcast live every year on BBC television, attracts a quarter of a million spectators and is regarded as the UK’s largest outdoor sporting spectacle. It is one of only six four-star events held globally each year.

Only the world’s top riders make the cut for acceptance in the Badminton competition list, and the selection is based on each combination’s ranking points. Ireland, as well as the 13 accepted entries, also has seven combinations on the waiting list, riders and horses who might compete if others from any nation on the accepted list drop out before the trials begin.

Ireland has already secured three Olympic team slots, with the possibility of two more on the cards.

“I am delighted that so many combinations have got into the competition,” said Team Ireland’s Eventing High Performance Manager Ginny Elliot.

“It is quite difficult to meet Badminton’s eligibility criteria and to accumulate enough FEI points to make the cut.

“Obviously with it being an Olympic year the results at Badminton will be important for Olympic selection. The riders have been working really hard and have upped their game. I am really looking forward to Badminton this year,” she said.

On the breeding side, nine of the 13 horses representing Ireland at Badminton are Irish Sport Horses, while all seven on the waiting list are also Irish Sport Horses.

Elizabeth Power and Kilpatrick River
Elizabeth Power and Kilpatrick River at Badminton last year. © Al Crook

The breed is also well represented in the overall entries for Badminton, with 26 Irish-breds amongst the 92 horses on the accepted list, and a further 15 on the waiting list.


» Badminton Acceptances (PDF)

» Wait list (PDF)

Ireland’s Badminton entries are as follows:
1. Aoife Clarke (IRL) & Vaguely North
2. Capt. Geoff Curran (IRL) & The Jump Jet (ISH)
3. Jayne Doherty (IRL) & Ravenstar
4. Jayne Doherty (IRL) & The Only One (ISH)
5. Ciaran Glynn (IRL) & Killossery Kruisita (ISH)
6. Mark Kyle (IRL) & Step In Time
7. Joseph Murphy (IRL) & Electric Cruise (ISH)
8. Jim Newsam (IRL) & Magennis (ISH)
9. Elizabeth Power (IRL) & September Bliss
10. Michael Ryan (IRL) & Old Road (ISH)
11. Michael Ryan (IRL) & Ballylynch Skyport (ISH)
12. Camilla Speirs (IRL) & Portersize Just A Jiff (ISH)
13. Sam Watson (IRL) & Horseware Bushman (ISH)


1. Declan Cullen (IRL) & Glenhill Gold (ISH)
2. Mark Kyle (IRL) & Willow Fairgreen Attraction (ISH)
3. Jim Newsam (IRL) & Lara’s Song (ISH)
4. Joseph Murphy (IRL) & Sportsfield Othello (ISH)
5.  Louise Lyons (IRL) & Watership Down (ISH)
6.  Sarah Wardell (IRL) & Killeenduff Boy (ISH)
7.  Mark Kyle (IRL) & Nitetime Cavalier (ISH)

Latest research and information from the horse world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.