November 29, 2007

Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum (GER), winner of the sixth IJRC Top Ten Final.
Picture: Kit Houghton

Ten of the world's best showjumpers will jump off in the International Jumping Riders' Club Top-10 Final, in Geneva on December 8.

The final is open to the ten best placed riders on the Rolex Rankings who are also members of the International Jumping Riders' Club (IJRC).

The following riders have qualified for the event:

1. Markus Fuchs (SUI)
2. Ludger Beerbaum (GER)
3. Jessica Kurten (IRL)
4. Christian Ahlmann (GER)
5. Meredith Michael-Beerbaum (GER)
6. Albert Zoer (NED)
7. Beezie Madden (USA)
8. Marcus Ehning (GER)
9. Michael Whitaker (GBR)
10. Gerco Schroder (NED)

The Top-10 Final began in 2001 at the initiative of the IJRC and has proved highly successful with audiences - the impressive Geneva Palexpo hall is always sold out - and TV viewers. No less than 17 channels will be broadcasting the competition.

Three riders have won the six finals - two each - that have taken place so far. Ludger Beerbaum won the inaugural and 2002 editions on Godfever III and Gladdys S respectively. And 2003 and 2005 saw the triumph of Rodrigo Ressoa on Baloubet du Rouet, whereas 2004 and 2006 proved lucky for Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum and Shutterfly.