Ten British equestrian greats inducted into Hall of Fame

June 7, 2006

Eight great riders and two horses have been inducted into The British Horse Society Equestrian Hall of Fame.

Jennie Loriston-Clarke MBE FBHS, Robert Oliver, Captain Mark Phillips FBHS, Bertie Hill, Caroline Bradley, Marion Mould, Nick Skelton, Douglas Bunn, Tosca and Beethoven will all entered the BHS Equestrian Hall of Fame.

British Horse Society President Noel Edmonds said: "I know the panel had a tough time choosing just 10 new laureates. All these equestrians and horses deserve to take their place in the Hall of Fame."

The laureates were selected by a panel chaired by BHS Chairman Patrick Print FBHS and also comprising: Michael Clayton, Ginny Elliot, Lucy Higginson and Michael Mac. The panel considered a number of nominations made by members of the public.

Of the new laureates Captain Mark Phillips, Douglas Bunn, Jennie Loriston-Clarke, Mary Hill (the widow of Bertie Hill), and the owner of Beethoven will today collect certificates to mark their induction at a luncheon at the Goring Hotel, London.

The owners or riders of Dutch Courage, Sefton, Cornishman V and Merely a Monarch who were admitted in July 2005 will also be present to collect their certificates.

Mr Print said: "It is a pleasure to put more top stars in the BHS Equestrian Hall of Fame and recognise their talents."

Plaques to commemorate all the laureates in the BHS Equestrian Hall of Fame is to be displayed on the wall of the Household Cavalry's Barracks in South Carriage Drive, Knightsbridge, west London by kind permission of the Commanding Officer, Lieutenant Colonel Ralph Griffin.

Lt Col Griffin said: "The Household Cavalry are delighted to be associated with the BHS Equestrian Hall of Fame, especially as the military have produced so many good riders, and the Colonel of the Blues and Royals, HRH The Princess Royal, is a former Olympian and Hall of Fame Laureate."

Members of the public can still cast their votes to nominate equestrians and horses as laureates in the BHS Equestrian Hall of Fame. Suggestions should be emailed to HallofFame@bhs.org.uk.